Posted by: nelyacalev | December 27, 2009

You must show me a house on Christmas Day, but I do not want to use an agent

Why is it the holidays seem to bring out the worst in people?  On Christmas Eve, I receive a call from a buyer interested in a property located next to a property I just sold.  This property is of course listed by another agent.

First the buyer asks me a number of questions about the property.  While I had been in it to do comps I obviously knew little else about it.  She then stated that she is looking for a home for her parents and that I must show it to her that night.

Do they have an agent?, I asked.

She replied that she didn’t know, but that she just wanted someone to open the door for her.  I replied that any agent would want to get paid for showing a listing and that we are not paid unless the listing closes.  I suggested that she use the agent they are working with to open the door.

She then got rather huffy and insisted I show her the house the next day (Christmas Day).  While we do not celebrate Christmas, we do get together with family that day and I did not feel like driving across town that day to open a door so another agent can get paid.

When I refused, she got quite upset, told me off, and then stated she would just call the listing agent herself.

How’s that for holiday cheer?


Leave a comment

Categories